"Southam"

I'm hoping that we'll be able to get "Southam" up and running again before too long. I've just come across some pictures of her when she was active

This is on a recycling trip at Fairfield Junction. After doing our collecting we'd have a brew and our butties. Not sure who took the photo. On the roof there's me and Ryan Hinds, In the fore end are Steve Monaghan and Shanaz Begum.

Here she is in 2010 at the Northwich River Festival in Northwich, breasted up to "Black Abbot of Mersey" (formerly "Iris Abbot").

Towing "Forget me Not" and "Lilith" on a recycling trip, and laying a smoke screen whilst passing under Hanover St bridge, Guide Bridge. We couldn't put a chimney on or she wouldn't get under Lumb Lane.

On a summer evening recycling trip. That's Nick Lowther on the left of the fore end and Martin Lowe 2nd from right. Kevin Hatton steering. Not sure who the other two are.

Setting out from Portland Basin on an evening recycling trip. Kevin Hatton steering.

Towing into Hill St bridge, Droylsden, on a Sunday recycling trip. Elsa Williams steering.

Tying above the Anderton Lift on the return trip from Northwich River Festival 2010.

Heading downriver past Anderton during parade of boats, 2010. I was conflicted about those St Georges flags as they are so often used as a symbol of right wing ideas. They were purchased and fitted by one of our crew.  I'm English, why should I be worried about flying my national flag I thought. Later I found out that the person who fitted them worships Farage and doesn't like South Asian people. It really pisses me off that Nazis co-opt symbols like this. Taken from another boat but I can't remember who by. Please jog my memory if you know.

The view back from "Southam" on a recycling trip.

Another recycling trip passing Ashton Packet Boat Co. Keith Williams and Steve Morris in fore end. Elsa Williams steering.

A summer evening recycling trip.

Entering a wide Trent & Mersey lock below Burton on Trent en route to Lincoln with "Lilith" to collect timber for rebuilding "Hazel". May 2011.

Another one of "Southam" setting out from Portland Basin on an evening recycling trip.

On dock in 2019. Further work delayed by nasty little virus.