Heroic Welding

When the Dutton Drydock Company donated their Land Rover Discovery to the Wooden Canal Boat Society there were some prophets of doom who said we shouldn't accept it because the bottom would fall out of it. To be fair, at 24 it's a bit long in the tooth as motor vehicles go, but I was re-assured that the main structural component supporting the body had already been renewed. It was certainly a generous donation.

A little while ago I started to get concerned. Various items had dropped through a hole next to the back nearside wheel arch. I began to wonder if the doomsters had been right. The MOT is due soon.

I needn't have worried. The remarkable duo of Stephan and Nessie have been at work the last few days. There was a bit of a false start when I hired a mig welder from Marchstream in Denton. It didn't work. I'm not going there again! The bullet was bitten and I bought a new one from Machine Mart in Openshaw. Not much more expensive really.

The back end is now done, ready for shop collections and deliveries tomorrow (we still need a volunteer driver for doing this by the way) . Stephan  has found more welding to do in the front end, then it will be ready for the scrutiny of the MOT person.